top of page
Hide and Seek

About Heather.

Education

Central Michigan University

Competed a Bachelor of Science Degree with a double major in Sociology and Psychology

Grand Valley State University

Completed a Master of Social Work degree

Licensure and Certifications

State of Indiana

Licensed Clinical Social Worker

Association for Play Therapy

Registered Play Therapist- Supervisor

Specialized Trainings:

Level I Theraplay®

I have completed Level I Theraplay® training through the Theraplay®Institute in Chicago, IL. 

EMDR 

I am trained in EMDR (Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing) Therapy through EMDRIA. 

SandTray

I have completed levels 1-4 of Sand Tray training through the Sand Tray Training Institute of New Mexico. 

Teaching Experience

Indiana University School of Social Work- Adjunct Faculty

I have served as an adjunct professor in the Indiana University School of Social Work Program. I taught students about clinical social work at the graduate level through IUPUI. 

Purdue University Fort Wayne

I served as an Adjunct faculty in the Education Department. I taught an Interpersonal Communications and Development course. 

Indiana Business College

Full time teaching for one semester. Taught introductory Psychology and Introductory Sociology courses. 

Work Experience

Community Mental Health

I have worked in a day treatment program in Michigan with adults who have a severe and persistent mental illness. I have also worked at Northeastern Center as an outpatient therapist. 

Residential Treatment

I have worked in a residential treatment program for girls with severe emotional and behavioral needs.  

Foster Care

I spent five and a half years working for a specialized foster care agency. While there, I worked as a case worker and therapist for children in care. Our agency also held a contract for post adoption services. I was able to provide in home therapy for families who had adopted. 

Private Practice

I worked for a group practice for nine and a half years before going out on my own. I have been working in my own practice since 2015. 

Personal

I have two amazing children who I have had the pleasure of raising. They have given me some grey hair and so many smiles. 

 I have three cats and a dog. I grew up on a farm, so having animals under foot is a way of life for me. 

I enjoy many hobbies. I knit, sew, do home repair, read, do yoga and I enjoy travelling as much as I can. I absolutely love my job and I can't imagine doing anything else. 

Areas of Experience

Depression

 

Anxiety

ADHD

PTSD and Trauma

Parenting

Behavioral Concerns

Grief and Loss

Adjustment Difficulties

Divorce Adjustment

Abuse and Neglect

Adoption

Foster Care

Selective Mutism

Gender Dysphoria

Identity and Sexuality in Teens

Man Walking in Fields
bottom of page